Missouri State University

Themes and Provost Fellows

Each year the Missouri State campus community is encouraged to submit nominations for public affairs themes; themes generally focus on challenges in public policy or issues confronting our world. Then, a committee comprised of students, faculty and staff chooses a theme from the submissions to guide the public affairs activities of the academic year. The theme is introduced at the New Student Convocation and is carried forward through each of the year’s signature public affairs events.

The provost fellow is responsible for refining the chosen public affairs theme, developing and promoting public affairs activities and serving as the chair of the Public Affairs Conference. The Office of the Provost welcomes nominations for a provost fellow for public affairs.

Past themes

YearThemeProvost Fellow/Conference chair
2012-2013 Inclusive Excellence Dr. Gilbert Brown
2011-2012 Culture of Connectivity Dr. Kurt Heinlein
2010-2011 Leading in a Global Society Dr. Gloria J. Galanes
2009-2010 Peril and Promise Dr. Mahua Barari Mitra
2008-2009 Sustainable Actions for a Sustainable Future Dr. D. Alexander Wait
2007-2008 Seeking Solutions: Conflict, Violence and the Courage to Change Dr. Dianne Strickland
2006-2007 One World, Many Voices Dr. Ken Rutherford
2005-2006 Horizons of Citizenship N/A
2004-2005 Celebrating the Intellect Dr. John Strong and Dr. Kathy Pulley