Public Affairs

Excellence in Public Affairs Award

The Board of Governors' Award for Excellence in Public Affairs was established at Missouri State University to recognize faculty and staff who excel at carrying out the public affairs mission.

Up to three faculty and three staff award winners are selected each year to receive a certificate, recognition by the Board of Governors and a $1,500 grant to be used for travel and/or research related to their work with Public Affairs.

2014 recipients


  • Dr. James Baumlin
    Distinguished Professor, English Department
  • Dr. Anson Elliott
    Director of the Darr School of Agriculture
  • Lora Hobbs
    Senior Instructor, Religious Studies Department


  • Kathy Nordyke
    Director of Citizenship and Service Learning
  • Dr. Herbert Lunday
    Dean of Student Services - West Plains campus


Missouri State faculty and staff are encouraged to nominate colleagues for the Board of Governors' Excellence in Public Affairs Award. Recipients must have been employed full-time at Missouri State for at least 3 years at the time of nomination and provide evidence of distinctive work and accomplishments in support of the University’s Public Affairs mission.