Excellence in Public Affairs Award

Updates have been made to the 2020 timeline.  Please view the respective links to the right for new deadlines.  

The Board of Governors' Award for Excellence in Public Affairs was established at Missouri State University to recognize faculty and staff who excel at carrying out the public affairs mission.

2019 Recipients

From left to right: Katie Stinnett, Sheryl Ruff-Hensley, Heather Blades, Dr. Carol Miller, Dr. Janice Greene and Dr. Lyle Foster.  



Call for 2020 nominations begins January 21, 2020. 

Nominees should have evidence of distinctive work and accomplishments in support of the University’s Public Affairs mission. Up to three faculty and three staff are selected each year. Recipients will receive a framed certificate, recognition by the Board of Governors and a $1,500 grant award to be used toward travel, research and/or activities related to their public affairs projects within the University.  Nominees must be full-time Missouri State employees with a minimum of 3 years full-time employment at the time of nomination.

Staff Nominations

There is no limit to how many staff nominations can be submitted for consideration.  Nomination letters must be emailed or campus mailed to Dr. Rachelle Darabi no later than March 6, 2020. The award coordinator, Stacey Trewatha-Bach, will follow-up with each staff nominee to ensure the formal application materials are completed prior to the April 6 deadline.  View the requirements link to the right.  

Faculty Nomination Options

Each College may submit forth one faculty nominee, including the Meyer Library and the West Plains campus. Colleges have two options for submitting their faculty nominee:  1) they may choose their nominee by college committee or 2) the Dean may directly submit a faculty nominee, at their discretion.

Faculty nominee submitted via Dean:  By March 6, 2020 the Dean must submit by email the faculty name to Dr. Rachelle Darabi.  A nomination letter may accompany the submission, but is not required. The award coordinator, Stacey Trewatha-Bach, will follow-up with the faculty nominee to ensure their formal application materials are completed prior to the April 6 deadline. 

Faculty nominee submitted via College Committee:  By April 6, 2020 the final nominee's name, along with their fully completed formal application materials, must be submitted to Dr. Rachelle Darabi by email or campus mail.  Please contact the award coordinator, Stacey Trewatha-Bach for questions/confirmation regarding application materials.  

Questions & Contact Information

For assistance, please contact Stacey Trewatha-Bach, Coordinator, Office of Public Affairs Support at 417-836-8832 or Dr. Rachelle Darabi, Associate Provost for Student Development & Public Affairs.